George Story Lecturers


The Newfoundland Historical Society (NHS) George Story Lecture is in honour of George Morley Story (1927-1994), past president of the Society and winner of the NHS’s Heritage Award for 1982-1983.
Dr. Story joined Memorial University’s Department of English Language and Literature in 1954, where he established an international reputation as a lexicographer and Renaissance scholar, and pioneered the study of Newfoundland history, culture, language and literature.
His major Newfoundland publications include (with Herbert Halpert) Christmas Mumming in Newfoundland (1969) and (with William J. Kirwin and John D.A. Widdowson) the Dictionary of Newfoundland English (1982). Dr. Story was very active in the public promotion and preservation of Newfoundland’s cultural and historical heritage.
He served as President of the Newfoundland Historic Trust from 1969 to 1971, of the Newfoundland Historical Society from 1978 to 1981, and in 1980 was named the first chairman of the Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council. He was appointed director of the J.R. Smallwood Centre for Newfoundland Studies in 1988, and in 1993 was named to the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.
Dr. Story was the recipient of several major honours: Fellow of the Royal Historical Society (1976), the Society of Antiquaries (1978), and the Royal Society of Canada (1982). ┬áIn 1977 he was awarded the Canada Council’s Molson Prize, and in 1988 was appointed a Member of the Order of Canada. For his distinguished scholarship and crucial influence on the development of Memorial University, Story was posthumously awarded a Litt.D. just a few days after his death on May 9, 1994.

Modified from RLS, 16, 1999

1997 Rex Murphy (inaugural lecture)
1998 Anne Hart
2000 James Hiller
2003 Hans Rollmann
2004 Ron Rompkey
2005 John Mannion
2006 Patrick O'Flaherty
2007 Gordon Handcock
2008 Neil Rosenberg
2009   Several Speakers Concise History Panel
2010   Sandra Clarke
2011   Gerald Pocius
2012   Jeff Webb
2013   Tom Gordon
2014   Beverley Diamond
2015   Olaf Janzen
2016   Margot Duley
2017   Stan Dragland