Newfoundland Historical Society
Heritage Awards

The Newfoundland Historical Society Heritage Fellowship Award was instituted in 1976, when Paul O'Neill, in his annual President's Report, stated that it was to be presented to the person or persons who, in the judgement of the Council has contributed significantly to the preservation and/or dissemination of the written record of the history of Newfoundland and Labrador.

Nominations may be made by any member of the Society. The winner is chosen by the Executive and Council from the nominees. It is hoped in this way to sometimes honour contributions to the written history of Newfoundland by persons who otherwise might be ignored.

The first recipient was the Society's own Office Secretary, and staunch supporter, collector, preserver and disseminator of Newfoundland history, Bobbie Robertson. It has been awarded annually, with a few exceptions, since then, and in recent years to multiple recipients.

1975-76 Bobbie Robertson 1996-97 Paul Johnson
1976-77 Agnes O'Dea Marguerite Linthorne
1977-78 Joseph R. Smallwood 1997-98 Gilbert Higgins
1978-79 Ted Drover Janet Story
1979-80 Ronald Seary Raymond W. Guy
1980-81 Frederick W. Rowe 1998-99 Ena Farrell Edwards
1981-82 Louise Whiteway 1999-00 William J. Kirwin
1982-83 George Story 2000-01 Alley O'Brien
1983-84 Doris Saunders 2001-03 no recipient
Joe Goudie 2003-04 James Tuck
1984-85 Paul O'Neill Roland Abbott
Michael Harrington Baccalieu Trail Heritage Society
1985-86 Harry Cuff 2004-05 no recipient
1986-87 no recipient 2005-06 Gordon Bradley
1987-88 Burnham Gill 2006-07  
1988-89 Hal Andrews 2007-08 William F. Coaker Heritage Foundation
1989-90 Ed Coady 2008-10 no recipient
1990-91 Leslie Harris 2010-11 James K. Hiller
1991-93 no recipient 2011-13 no recipient
1993-94 Otto Tucker 2014-15 Trinity Historical Society
1994-95 Naboth Winsor
Peter Neary
2015-18 no recipient    
1995-96 Encyclopedia 2018-19 Them Days  
of Newfoundland
& Labrador
Gordon Handcock